AIM of SSA Goa 
About us
Quality of Education
Procurement Plan
Contact us



(A) Demographic Profile
Goa was under Portuguese colonial rule till 19th December 1961 when Indian Military Forces liberated it with the help of Freedom Fighters. Thereafter, the territory was incorporated into the Indian Union. On 30th May 1987 Goa was granted full-fledged Statehood and with this the process of decentralization of administration started. The State has geographical area of 3702 Sq. Kms. divided into two districts, six sub divisions and eleven talukas. There are two Zilla Panchayats, North Goa and South Goa. This decentralization has resulted in higher efficiency in the administration and prompt redressal of public grievances.

Location and Area:
Goa, situated along Konkan coast of India, has a coastline of 131 kms. It has a partly hilly terrain with the Western Ghats rising to nearly 1200 mtrs. in some parts of the state. In the North, the Terekhol river separate Goa and Maharashtra. Karnataka lies to the south. The Arabian Sea is situated on the west and the Western Ghats in the east. The Tiswadi island lies between the Mandovi and Zuari rivers, which are connected on the landward side by a creek. The island is triangular in shape that divides the harbour of Goa into two parts-Aguada at the mouth of Mandovi on the north and Mormugao at mouth of Zuari on the south.

It stretches out to a length of 105 km from north to south and is about 60 km. in width from east to west. Its total area is 3702 sq.km. It is comparatively a small state with its capital at Panjim.

The port of Murmugao situated on the southern side of Zuari River is one of the best natural harbours on the west coast of India.

The climate of Goa is generally pleasant and normal throughout the year. The summer temperature varies from 24 Degree Centigrade to 36 Degree centigrade. Monsoon begins normally in the first week of June and the State receives good rainfall at an average of 2500 m.m. annually, mostly during June to September. There are six important rivers namely Mandovi, Zuari, Sal, Terekhol, Chapora and Talpona.

People of Goa are peace loving. Their hospitable nature is known worldwide. As per 2001 Census, population of Goa comprises 65.79% Hindus, 26.68% Christians, 6.84% Muslims and 0.69% other religions viz. Sikhs, Buddhist, Jains and others. The State is excellent example of religious harmony. There is no abject poverty in the state.


( B )The Administrative Structure

Being a small State, Goa comprises of Two (2) Districts namely (a) North Goa (b) South Goa as shown in fig 1.2. The North Goa district is subdivided into 6 blocks viz Pernem, Bardez, Bicholim, Sattari, Tiswadi, Ponda. and the South Goa district is subdivided into 5 blocks viz Cancoana, Sanguem, Quepem, Salcete and Murmugao.

The head quarter of North Goa district is at Panjim and of South Goa district is at Margao

There are 383 revenue villages in the state of which 233 are in North Goa and 150 in South Goa. Besides there are 44 towns including 14 municipal towns, The State administration is looked after by the Council Of Minister under the guidance of the Chief Minister. The Governor is the Head of the State and the Chief Secretary, the head of the administrative set up. The Collector of North Goa and South Goa Districts are respectively in-charge of 
the district level Administration. They are assisted by their Deputy Collectors and others.

At the Taluka level there are Mamltdar and at the block level Block Development Officers. 233 revenue Village of North Goa District are grouped into 122 Village Panchayat and 70 revenue villages of South Goa District are grouped into 65 village Panchayat, thus making a total of 192 village Panchayats which take care of village Panchayat Administration.

At the Village level, Panchayat level Administration is looked after by the Sarpanch, assisted by no of Panchas, in the implementation of various Programme as well as in serving local needs.


(C.) The Administration And Developmental set up

The state has three elected representatives in Parliament, two in Lok Sabha and one in Rajya Sabha. Goa has unicameral Legialature, with a Legislative Assembly of forty seats including one seat reserved for Scheduled Castes.




Area (sq. km.) @


Total Population


Density per sq. m.


Male Population


Female population


Rural Population


Urban Population


No. Of Main workers


Main worker Participation


Birth Rate (per 1000 Population)


Death Rate (per 1000 Population)


Infant Mortality (per 1000 live births)


Total Literacy Rate % (2001)


Male Literacy Rate % (2001)


Female Literacy Rate % (2001)


Rural Literacy Rate % (2001)



Towns and Villages as per Census 2001

Total Number of Villages


Total Number of inhabited Villages


Total Number of Uninhabited Villages


Total Number of Submerged Villages


Total Number of Villages in Urban Agglomeratation


Number of Towns


Number of Municipal Towns


Census towns other than Municipal Towns




State Name:  Goa

Districts -2



Villages -347




Contents owned and updated by GOA SARVA SHIKSHA ABHIYAN
Website designed and Hosted by National Informatics Centre, Goa